Fourth Edition of the VCLA International Student Awards 2019

The highly successful fourth edition of the VCLA International Student Awards 2019 was concluded on June 28, 2019. Out of 37 submissions in total, one was selected for the Outstanding Master Thesis Award and one for the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award by a committee consisting of 19 internationally recognized researchers. The winner’s degrees have been awarded between November 15th, 2017 and December 31st, 2018 (inclusive). The deadline for submission of nominations for the VCLA International Student Awards 2020 – for the degrees awarded between November 15th, 2018 and December 31st, 2019 (inclusive) – will be announced by January 2020.

Outstanding Master Thesis Award

Martín Muñoz (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile) for the master thesis Descriptive Complexity for Counting Complexity Classes under the supervision of Marcelo Arenas and Cristian Riveros.

Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis Award

Alexej Rotar (TU München) for the undergraduate thesis The Satisfiability Problem for Fragments of PCTL under the supervision of Jan Kretinsky.


  • The Outstanding Master Thesis Award is accompanied by a prize of € 1200.
  • The Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis Award is accompanied by a prize of € 800.
  • The winners have been invited to the award ceremony to Vienna.
  • The winners shall have the opportunity to present their theses in a digital format.

The annually awarded VCLA International Student Awards acknowledge Bachelor and Master works that ask innovative questions and meet the highest academic standards for scientific research in the field of Logic and Computer Science. The awards are dedicated to the memory of Helmut Veith, the brilliant computer scientist who tragically passed away in March 2016, and aims to carry on his commitment to promoting young talent and promising researchers in these areas. See the current call for Helmut Veith Stipend for Female Master´s Students in Computer Science here.

VCLA Award Committee 2019

  • Ezio Bartocci
  • Wolfgang Dvořák
  • Ekaterina Fokina
  • Robert Ganian (committee co-chair)
  • Maximilian Jaroschek
  • Roman Kuznets
  • Martin Lackner
  • Bjoern Lellmann
  • Magdalena Ortiz (general chair)
  • Matteo Pascucci
  • Revantha Ramanayake (committee co-chair)
  • Christoph Redl
  • Peter Schüller
  • Mantas Simkus
  • Sebastian Skritek
  • Friedrich Slivovsky
  • Bhore Sujoy
  • Johannes Wallner
  • Antonius Weinzierl

Previous Editions and Former Winners

The third edition of the VCLA International Student Awards 2018

The second edition of the VCLA International Student Awards 2016

The first edition of the VCLA International Student Awards 2015

Comments are closed.